Public & school holidays

Public & school holidays

Public holidays

There are 11 full day and 2 partial day public holidays in South Australia each year. Every Sunday is treated as a public holiday.

Public holiday 2020 2021 2022
* Denotes an additional holiday as the original holiday falls during a weekend or on another holiday
New Year's Day Wednesday 1st January Friday 1st January Saturday 1st January
Monday 3rd January *
Australia Day Sunday 26th January
Monday 27th January *
Tuesday 26th January Wednesday 26th January
Adelaide Cup Monday 9th March Monday 10th March Monday 14th March
Good Friday Friday 10th April Friday 2nd April Friday 15th April
Easter Saturday Saturday 11th April Saturday 3rd April Saturday 16th April
Easter Monday Monday 13th April Monday 5th April Monday 18th April
ANZAC Day Saturday 25th April Sunday 25th April
Monday 26th April *
Monday 25th April
Queen's Birthday Monday 8th June Monday 14th June Monday 13th June
Labour Day Monday 5th October Monday 4th October Monday 3rd October
Christmas Eve
(from 7pm)
Thursday 24th December Friday 24th December Saturday 24th December
Christmas Day Friday 25th December Saturday 25th December
Monday 27th December *
Sunday 25th December
Monday 26th December *
Proclamation Day Saturday 26th December
Monday 28th December *
Sunday 26th December
Tuesday 28th December *
Monday 26th December
Tuesday 27th December *
New Year's Eve
(from 7pm)
Thursday 31st December Friday 31st December Saturday 31st December

School holidays

These holiday dates are for state schools. Some private or independent schools may observe different holiday dates. Individual schools may also have additional pupil-free days.

Holiday period 2020 2021 2022
Summer 14 December 2019
27 January 2020
12 December 2020
26 January 2021
11 December 2021
30 January 2022
Autumn 10 April 2020
26 April 2020
10 April 2021
26 April 2021
15 April 2022
1 May 2022
Winter 4 July 2020
19 July 2020
3 July 2021
18 July 2021
9 July 2022
24 July 2022
Spring 26 September 2020
11 October 2020
25 September 2021
10 October 2021
1 October 2022
16 October 2022